Vegan chocolate brownie – WARNING YUMMY!!!


We REALLY enjoyed these brownies yesterday… still I have to behave if Im going to shed some more weight for our holiday next august. These brilliant brownies are great for storing, how long they’ll last with the kids around is another matter.

Next time I make them I might try adding some raisins etc and less oil…Yummy!

Ingredients

65g plain cocoa powder

350g Demerara sugar

250g plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon

250ml water

250ml vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

Method

 pre-heat the oven to  Gas mark 4.

Mix together the cocoa powder, sugar, flour, baking powder and salt.

Add the water, vegetable oil and vanilla and stir well … the mixture may look a little greasy and the choc mix & oil may separate but keep mixing and pour into the greased tray. Although I think next time I’ll use less oil, maybe only enough to moisten and bind… 250ml really is ALLOT of oil…. but the brownies worked out BEAUTIFULLY so I CANT KNOCK IT.

Spread evenly in a grease-proof paper lined baking tin. (original recipe suggests a 23 x 33cm or 9 x 13 inch tray… we didnt use paper just greased the tray with margerine)

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes in the preheated oven. Let it cool down for at least 10 minutes before cutting into squares. (our oven is on the way out… never the less it took us an hour to cook these brownies where as the original recipe called for 25 – 30 minutes… you may have to gently prod the brownie mix to test its readiness as we did)

We served our brownies with sweet fresh cut strawberries but some cream (or mock cream CLICK HERE FOR RECIPE) would taste gorgeous with this recipe

10 responses to “Vegan chocolate brownie – WARNING YUMMY!!!

  1. Hello! I’ve been following your weblog for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the very good work!

  2. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  3. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. Cheers

  4. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  5. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  6. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    • Thanks…Me too, The kids love getting hand on with the food. The reason I chose the recipe I did though was because the ingredients worked well with the rationing experiment… It didnt use large portions of ingredients I wouldnt be able to spare or are too expensive.

Leave a Reply

