Baklava


Click here —-> http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2011/12/baklava/ for the original recipe

Baklava Ingredients

1 package Phyllo Dough (i got my ready roll ‘filo’ at Tescos)

4 cups Chopped Walnuts Or Pecans

1 teaspoon Cinnamon

1-1/2 stick Butter, Melted

2 cups Honey

1/2 cup Water

1/2 cup Sugar

3 teaspoons Vanilla Extract

Method

Put your oven onto Gas Mark 4 to pre heat.

Chop some pecans or walnuts and place them in a bowl with the cinnamon… mix it all up a bit and set the nuts aside.

Grease the pan/ baking tray with butter (I used margarine), spray and cook will work just as well, so will any diet versions.

Melt the remaining butter to use in the recipe.

Unwrap the phyllo carefully, as it quite thin and delicate…. like me you may get tares in it at any point, I got mine when brushing on the melted butter.

Separate one of the phyllo sheets and ‘paint’ with the melted butter (as ours is on ration I used margarine and it worked just as well)… as I said this is where I made a few tares… first with the brush and then with my fingers when I gave up on the brush. It all worked out in the end though… so no worries.

At this point i added the buttered sheet to the greased flat baking tray, then added another phyllo sheet on top… this sheet was also buttered (marged).

Be careful when layering the next sheet on top of the buttered one… once its made contact its like trying to relay sticky back plastic… impossible. Check twice, lay once.

Now add the nuts, spreading them out carefully but leaving about a fingers width space from the edge. I added some raisins for extra YUM. <—- totally optional

Butter another phyllo sheet and place it over the nuts, butter side down. Do the same with another sheet, butter side down again so the side you have facing up is clean and butter FREE. Butter it 😀

Technically you can add as many sheets of butterd phyllo as you like, my Tesco’s ready roll ‘filo’ had 6 sheets… but as this was my first Baklava, I only used 4.

With a SHARP KNIFE, cut diagonally accross the tray and pastry. Do it a couple of times in the same direction and then a few times in the other direction leaving diamond shapes in the pastry. Dont worry if like me you have some really little ones…. theyre great for ‘TESTING’.

PLace in the pre heated oven for 45minutes or until golden brown and crisp. (see this is where ‘testing’ pieces are useful) BE CAREFUL because they will be VERY HOT.

While the baklava is baking…. prep the syrup (for over the top)

METHOD: Add the remaining butter and honey to a saucepan, add the sugar, vanilla and water… then stir well until thoroughly mixed. Bring it to the boil and then reduce to a low heat. Let it simmer and thicken slightly. Remove it from the heat and let it sit for about 10 – 15 minutes

Pour this over the baklava as it comes out the oven and let it sit and cool.

This is very yummy and very sticky AND with 3 small kiddies we learn to eat things like this with wet wipes/ wet cloth at the ready… usually for me as much as the kids because i cant stand sticky hands…. and MrC would let me lick his fingers 😀 lol (eek that sounds quite rude… well you know what i mean)

And now for something almost completely unrelated…

My kids and I love this song (below) – Hot Lava – But is it my imagination or does it sound like he’s singing hot lover? Anyway the kids and I have been singing Bak-laaava bak-lavaaaa all evening lol

Leave a Reply

