Steak and vegetable pie (using low fat home made pastry)


Due the sudden offal apocalypse that seems to have hit the greater Redcar and Cleveland area this week… I have no kidney for steak and kidney pie.

So I improvised with some of the last dregs of vegetables in the fridge/ veg bin. This was also a great opportunity to try the new low fat pastry recipe I swiped borrowed off the net.

 Ingredients for pie filling

  • 400g lean diced beef (probably more like 350g after i nibbled at the newly fried of steak)
  • 3 medium potatoes
  • 1 large onion, chopped roughly
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 apple (i used a golden delicious), chopped finely
  • handful of green beans
  • 6 – 7 carrots
  • 1 chicken stock cube
  • a little butter or marg (for the calorie conscious)

Method:

  • Add a little bit of margarine to a sturdy frying pan
  • Add diced beef to the pan and seal until brown. While browning off add a little water (dont quite cover pan), this will add to the lovely meat/ marg juices
  • Once browned remove meat to a separate bowl. Keep those gorgeous juices in the pan.
  • Add a stock cube and crushed garlic clove to the juice in the pan, mix and add roughly chopped onion.
  • Add one finely chopped sweet apple ( I’m loving asdas golden delicious apple packs at the moment)
  • Cook for 5 to 10 minutes until onion/apple begins to brown then add the onion/ apple mix, and any looovely juices remaining, to the steak.
  • Cook your vegetables… remember to let it all cool before you add it to the pastry
  • I only added a pastry top instead of making a full pie.
3 responses to “Steak and vegetable pie (using low fat home made pastry)

  1. I love what you people are up also. Such brilliant job and reporting! Continue the wonderful works guys I have incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll. In my opinion it’ll increase the value of my own online site 🙂

  2. My relatives always say that I am killing my time here at net, however I know I am getting familiarity every
    day by reading such good articles or reviews.

  3. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this. I am going to forward this post to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a very good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

