Caramel Cream Custard


The kids loved these, but quite honestly they taste nothing like the crem caramels in the supermarket. They taste like caramel and home made custard…. yummy.  The bit of hard caramel sticking out the top was formed at the bottom of the moulds I used… like a sheet of caramel flavoured glass.

It was tasty but I’m not sure its worth making regularly…. my little veg steamer is going to smell like eggy farts for ages. The caramel is easy enough to make and so is the custard… but steaming time depends on the heat, mixture etc…. in short this recipe probably could have gone better. I may use the custard mix again for puddings in the future though.

Caramel ingredients:

2oz sugar

1 tbs water

Custard:

3 eggs

1/2 pint of milk

1 dsp sugar

a few drops of vanilla essence

Method:

  1. For the caramel, dissolve the 2oz sugar in the water. Boil until the colour of caramel.
  2. Pour into heated mould, which can take 3/4 of a pint.
  3. When layer of caramel is cold, grease the sides of the mould.
  4. Warm the milk and pour this on the lightly beaten eggs and sugar, add the vanilla and pour the mixture over the caramel.
  5. Cover with greased paper and steam gently for 45 minutes, or until mixture is just firm.
  6. If possible, leave for 24 hours before turning out.

 

2 responses to “Caramel Cream Custard

  1. I know this is cheating and not ‘rations’ but I have a bottle of liquid caramel [got it in a local ‘european’ supermarket] and I use that in the base of my CCs. If the oven is on, I bake them in there – I stand my ramekins in a roasting pan half full of water. stops the eggy fart smell pervading everything – and saves fuel!

    • Oooh I’ll try it that way next time in the water. I was daft enough to use the tier steamer (water underneath and ramekins with pud on upper layer) that I use for my veggies…. the smell is only just going… hehehe eggy cabbage

Leave a Reply

