Quickie strudel


Okay… you caught me… I cheated and bought some ready roll puff pastry… but It was a quickie pudding and a good puff pastry takes 2 days to make (an experiment for another day)…soooo…

I popped a pan on the hob with a couple of table spoons of water…. to the pan I added half a dozen cooking apples (cut into chips) and a good handful of raisins. The amount will vary depending on how much you need, but I used the entire roll of pastry, so half a dozen apples wasn’t too much.

To this I added a tbsp of brown sugar, half a tsp of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg… after mixing I let this all soften a bit.

At this point you have to let the fruit cool… like jam apple can get VERY hot and needs to to cool off  before you add it to the pastry.

I spooned out the now cool mix onto the pastry and folded it over into a parcel, rolled it over, sprinkled some sugar on the top and sliced a a few vents in the pastry with a sharp knife.

I popped it on greaseproof paper and onto a baking tray at GM 5 for 30 minutes (we have a slow oven)…. It should cook until browned.

The kids loved it… what you see is the second half (pudding for after dinner). I did manage to save some for MrC though 😀

One response to “Quickie strudel

  1. You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation but I in finding this matter to be actually one thing which I feel I might never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely large for me. I’m having a look ahead in your next submit, I’ll attempt to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

