Potato scones


We REALLY enjoyed these. Not only were they delicious but they were so easy to make. The kids enjoyed playing with the dough as well, it was great to work with.

  • 4oz self raising flour
  • 1 tsp backing powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp margarine
  • 4 tbsp mashed potato

Mix together the flour, baking powder and salt, rub in the fat.

Add the potato mashed until light and  creamy.

WP_000148Mix all together with enough milk (if needed) to make a soft dough. (Its a wonderful dough to work with)

Roll out, form into rounds (or use cutters to cut out shapes… I made stars… as you do) and cut into section with a sharp knife.

Brush the tops with milk, bake at 180C, 350F, Gas Mark 4 for 20 minutes <<<< Make sure they’re in the lower half of the oven and if they begin to brown too quickly (mine did in a fan assisted oven) turn the temp down a bit. They need to be cooked inside and out.

6 responses to “Potato scones

  1. This is a wonderful dough to work with. It was a very popular dough to deep fry as doughnuts in the United States during the 40’s and 50’s. It was most popular around the great lakes region. You didn’t give where you found this recipe. Here is the original US recipe and the history of it. http://trkingmomoe.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/potatoe-doughnut-history-and-original-recipe/

    I like the idea of baking them into scones. That lowers the calories and quicker to do. Since I don’t have a scale, I will only have to cut the doughnut recipe in half to have about the same amount of dough yours make. Thanks.

    • Its a Marguerite Patten recipe (my favourite go to recipe bible). Your doughnuts look awesome (YUM) … I love the history behind them and the well loved recipe book… My Marguerite recipe book is looking very similar.

      • I had to look Patten up on the internet because I didn’t know who she was. What a interesting lady and life. Thanks for the information. I rebloged your recipe on two blogs. I hope that brings you some visitors.

  2. Just wonderful that you get the kids involved in cooking!
    I wish I had.
    My daughter has turned into a wonderful cook anyway.
    The best I can say about my son is that he loves my cooking.
    Wonderful post Momoe!

Leave a Reply

